Welcome to Quilts for Comfort.

June 11, 2008 at 5:19 am 13 comments

I want to welcome you to Quilts for Comfort. This is the opening post and welcome to what, I hope and pray, will be an active and wonderful ministry and gift to some very special children in the world.
The vision of this outreach comes from personal experiences. I am the mother of 4 children. One of my sons has a neurodegenerative disease. He has spent months at a time in the hospital and his day to day life at home is that of a mini ICU ward. He is a joy and the love our lives. Andrew has 3 siblings – 15, 14 and 12. They have grown up with uncertainty, fear, inconsistency and struggles. Through it all, they are growing into beautiful, exceptional and amazingly caring people. Their trials have made them stronger but they also still fear and grieve as their brothers future is unknown. You can read about my own family’s journey here:

http://www.caringbridge.com/canada/andrewsjourney\

There are many outreaches, and wonderful ones, that make quilts for children with serious illnesses. I love these outreaches. Andrew is currently being made a very special quilt by a wonderful group in Australia and we are so grateful. My heart is being pulled towards those families, like mine, that have other children in the home that live an uncertain life. There are many nights when I have to rush off with Andrew in the middle of the night to the hospital. Sometimes for a day, sometimes for a month. Other families go through this also. I would like to send special comfort quilts to some very special siblings to give them security and comfort.
I posted on my personal blog a few weeks back, that this was an idea that I wanted to explore and I had some wonderful emails and replies from quilters who would be happy to make a quilt square and send it in. So, we will begin this journey together. We will meet families that make you smile, laugh, cry, rejoice and grieve. I can tell you one thing for sure, your heart will be blessed by reaching out to some special siblings.

The easiest way to coodinate blocks is to use a quilters cache block that everyone can access. There will be a theme to each quilt based on the childs particular likes, dislikes, etc. All quilt squares will be sent to me and I will assemble them into quilt tops and quilt them and send them, with prayers and hugs, in the mail. This is ‘grassroots’ so, please bear with me, as I learn as I go.

There is a very special family that I ‘know’ off an internet support board that is going through a family’s worst nightmare right now. I have approached them about being our ‘launch’ family. I hope to hear from them in the next day or two. As soon as I hear, I will post the information here and take 12 sign ups for 12″ squares (pattern and colours to be posted at that time) This quilt, in particular, I hope we can put together relatively quickly. I am sure you will understand when the family agrees and I can share a bit about them with you.

Please spread the word of this new ‘charity’ opportunity. I will work on making the blog prettier and more appropriate to the cause over the next little while. I just wanted to be sure to get this up and running tonight!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

We need a catchy name……….

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nicolette  |  June 11, 2008 at 7:08 am

    What a wonderful initiative. I’m sorry to hear about Andrew.
    In Holland we have Droomdekentjes – Little Dream Quilts, an organization that collects quilts for children that have life-threathening deseases, are often hospitalized or are physically or mentally disabled. The children are really comforted by a quilt. I hope your quiltsforcomfort will become successful. I will post about it and will wait for your post with details about making a block.

    Reply
  • 2. Vickie  |  June 11, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    Alsionmarie,
    I am so happy that you have gone ahead with this venture that you feel passionate about as do many other quilters out there,
    I shall be looking for your post of what is needed and when and hope that I am able to assist with a block or two,
    cheers Vickie

    Reply
  • 3. Carolyn  |  June 11, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    I’d be happy to make a quilt block for this family when you are ready to share the information! What a wonderful idea this is!

    Reply
  • 4. Wendy  |  June 12, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    I would be happy to make a 12″ block or two. I hope that God blesses your venture here and you can really see it grow and meet the needs of many children in need.

    Reply
  • 5. Noémia  |  June 13, 2008 at 1:01 am

    It’s a good idea. Count me in to do a block. I would be happy to help .

    Reply
  • 6. chronicler  |  June 20, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    Count me in too! I could never sign up to do an entire quilt but a 12×12 would certainly be doable for such a fine cause.

    Reply
  • 7. Kristen  |  June 23, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Please let me know when you’re ready for block submissions. I would love to participate. What a thoughtful idea.

    Reply
  • 8. Donna Barwish  |  July 4, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Alison, I would love to make blocks for this little boy, do you still need 3, and if so I can finish these off for you. I will make them this weekend and get themin the mail.

    Reply
  • 9. Clare  |  July 16, 2008 at 6:43 am

    I’d love to help you, but with my Quilts 4 Leukaemia charity, I’ve got a lot on my plate right now. Wishing you the very best of luck.

    Reply
  • 10. ulla  |  August 9, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    It is so important not to forget the sister and brothers! I will be glad to make some blocks later!

    Reply
  • 11. Suzy :)  |  August 13, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    This is a *beautiful* idea! I’ve been involved with sick children and organizations to support them. I’ve also been involved with making charity quilts for different organizations. I often wonder about the siblings and how they cope. I love that you are looking to help them a little bit!

    I’ll be looking forward to your next sibling in need.

    Suzy

    Reply
  • 12. Perry Smith  |  February 15, 2009 at 4:14 am

    After the Canbetrra Bushfires we received both a quilt and a knitted rug, both of which are among our most cherished items.
    We were wondering whether the same organisation was making quilts etc for distribution in Victoria.

    As we are all members of the two left thumbs brigade we were interested in donating some money for use in helping those more talented.

    We are not sure who made the quilts but they were and stilll are in our thoughts.

    Perry Smith

    Reply
  • 13. Of comfort food and quilts « dutch comfort  |  August 28, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    […] stitching corner in which Alisonmarie asked visitors to pop over to another blog she hosts called quiltsforcomfort. I promissed to post about it. She asks for help to make quilts for siblings of children with […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


