KidsQuilts has their first mission.

June 24, 2008 at 2:33 am 12 comments

Thank you everyone for all the lovely comments and positive reaction to this new charity quilting venture. We have our first ‘assignment’.

Let me introduce you to Braden and Tyler. Braden and Tyler are two very special little boys who currently live in St Louis. They have a little brother Landon (3) who has a mitochondrial disease and, has good days, but is very sick. Their parents had to make a heartwrenching decision to up and move their family to Texas where, a special doctor who is trying to help Landon live a longer, happier life, is located. They have no friends, no family and no connection to Texas. After a critical hospital stay while in Texas early this month the decision was made that the family should uproot and move there, which they are doing in about 2 weeks. I think that Braden and Tyler are going through a lot right now, with having a sick brother and having a big move ahead, that KidsQuilts would be honored to make them both comfort quilts. You can read more about their little brother here:

http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/landonweber

Here is more information about our special brothers:

Braden is 5- He is Autistic but he Loves, Cars, Trucks, Firetrucks, Ambulances, and he loves ALL BUGS!!! Braden’s favorite colors are Blue and Red.
I have chosen the Quilters Cache Anvil block for Bradens quilt. As Braden is only 5 I thought doing novelty fabrics (cars, trucks, bugs etc in bright colours for the anvils would be lovely with a white on white background. The block pattern is located here:

http://www.quilterscache.com/A/AnvilBlock.html

Tyler is 9- He LOOOOOVES BASEBALL!! , and his favorite animal is Dogs, His Favorite Color is Red, Green, Blue, and White… he says he likes them all.
For Tylers Quilt I selected a simple Friendship Star block. Let’s do Tylers quilt in red and blue friendship stars with white on white background. Hopefully we will have an almost even spread of blue and red (small prints, perhaps batiks etc) I am going to do borders in a baseball fabric so would like to see the stars not be an overwhelming pattern.

http://www.quilterscache.com/F/FriendshipStarBlock.html

I am in need of 11- 12×12″ quilt blocks to be made for each quilt. (Please ensure that your blocks are as close to 12.5″ as possible before mailing. Also please use 100% cotton quilt fabric – not flannel etc – unless specifically asked for.) The mailing deadline will be July 21st (I am in Canada so mailing will be to Canada but one block won’t weigh much) I will assemble the quilt blocks into tops, and quilt and bind them and mail them to the family. I will share photos of the process and completed quilts with you all. Please do adhere to the colour, theme selections that I have posted. As you can imagine, having 12 quilters in 12 different places all make quilt blocks that go into one quilt and have it look like they were made to go together might be a bit of a challenge!! That is why the patterns selected are nice and easy and the colour selections aren’t super specific. I am sure that these quilts will be lovely!!! I can’t wait to see them come together.

If you would like to sign up to make a quilt block or two please leave your name and which child you would like to make a block for. As mentioned, I need sign ups for 22 squares in total (as I will do one for each quilt also) The squares are nice and easy to do and should be able to be made from your quilt fabric stash in about 1/2 hour, and you will be touching some very special kids with your kindness.

Once I have collected the 12 quilters for each quilt I will create flickr accounts for each quilt so you can share your progress with others making blocks for the same quilt.

Please support this venture by considering adding a comment on your quilt blogs to tell others about this new opportunity! Thank you!

Thans everyone and I will be eagerly awaiting those ‘comments/signups’

Alison

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

We need a catchy name………. Thank you!

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  June 24, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    I’d be happy to make a friendship star block for Tylers quilt! Please email your address and I’ll get it off to you!

    Reply
  • 2. Karol-Ann  |  June 24, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    I would like to do one for each boy. Willing to do more if needed đŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. Kristen  |  June 25, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    I will do one for each boy. Can you send me the mailing information? What’s the target date?

    Reply
  • 4. Wendy  |  June 25, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    I will also do one block for each!

    Reply
  • 5. gertie  |  June 26, 2008 at 3:14 am

    I would love to make a block for each quilt and will put a link on my blog, so expect to be inundated by some other Aussies!

    Reply
  • 6. Donna  |  June 26, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    Hi, I will make you a block for each quilt. Send your mailing address to my email. This is a great thing you are doing.

    Reply
  • 7. Jacquie  |  June 26, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    Alison, I have a quilt that needs a home and Wendy gave me the link to your project. I would be happy to donate it if you think you can use it. It’s a Disappearing Nine Patch in lilac and blue. It’s about 41×50. (If I remember correctly)Come check it out on my blog http://www.tallgrassprairiestudio.blogspot.com
    Thanks,
    Jacquie

    Reply
  • 8. Anita  |  June 27, 2008 at 6:09 am

    It would be my pleasure to make 1 block for each quilt.

    Reply
  • 9. Vickie  |  June 28, 2008 at 3:26 am

    Hi Alison,
    I’m making one block for each of the boys..please fwd your addy so I can get them off in the mail too oyu,
    cheers Vickie

    Reply
  • 10. Vickie  |  June 28, 2008 at 3:27 am

    Hi Alison,
    I’m making one block for each of the boys..please fwd your addy so I can get them off in the mail too you,
    cheers Vickie

    Reply
  • 11. Susan  |  June 29, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    What a wonderful project! I am also willing to make a block for each boy. Please email me your mailing information and I will get the blocks out to you this week.

    Reply
  • 12. nicolette  |  June 29, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    I left a comment immediately after your post appeared in bloglines, but it’s gone..
    I would gladly make two blocks in red white and blue for Tyler.
    Please email information about the address the blocks can be send to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


